Saturday, April 2, 2022

Marketing plan

Vision and mission statement

Vision statement: To transform theatre into a welcoming and inclusive industry for all.

Mission statement: To create original theatrical productions which are highly accessible, with diverse casting and crew members so everybody feels represented both on and off stage. 

SWOT Analysis

Marketing objectives
  • Specific: To gain Beehive greater recognition from people globally through online platforms
  • Measurable: To gain 1k followers on all social media platforms Beehive is on
  • Achievable: Can post regular updates on all platforms as this doesn't cost anything
  • Realistic: This is possible to meet as it doesn't require a large team of people or much money
  • Time sensitive: I would like to achieve this within a year

  • Specific: To increase the local community's engagement with Beehive Theatre
  • Measurable: To have regular audiences of at least 100 people at Beehive's shows
  • Achievable: Shall select appropriately sized venues to perform at and advertise the shows in popular local areas
  • Realistic: This is possible to meet because I have connections with people who run local, creative events
  • Time sensitive: I would like to achieve this by the first performance of the first show

Marketing strategies

7Ps of Marketing 
  1. Product- original, diverse and accessible musical theatre productions 
  2. Place- tickets sold online (website, links on social media), shows will be live then available online later (website/ YouTube channel), advertise primarily online (photos, trailers, clips, songs, etc.) (can pay for adverts on platforms like Instagram, Twitter, etc.), would get performance venue to put up promotional material (e.g. posters, flyers) 
  3. Price- ticket prices (£10 - £20) 
  4. Promotion- primarily online and social media marketing (post frequently online, hashtags, paid ads, trends), variety of content (photos, videos, updates), think about SEO (use key words, paid Google ads for more searches), attending events (e.g. festivals) to do short performances and give out info (e.g. flyers) 
  5. People- cast and crew members, prioritise showing behind the scenes as well- get recognition, will consistently adhere to values, updates on whatever happens to keep customers engaged and informed 
  6. Process- tickets will be digital (QR/ bar code maybe?) though can be printed if they wish to 
  7. Physical environment- will have a studio base for rehearsals and things, but customers will access through website, see live in theatre performances  
Typical marketing budget: 5% of business turnover

The main strategies I shall use to market Beehive Theatre and the shows produced are:
  • Social media marketing
  • Attending creative events
Advertising on social media is one of the best routes to take because there are many ways to promote material for free. By posting frequently and adhering to popular trends and hashtags, Beehive's account would be able to gain recognition without a single penny needing to be spent. Younger people, my primary demographic, spend a sufficient amount of time on these platforms and often use them to find out what is popular. If Beehive is able to keep up with this, then it's more likely to be noticed and gain followers. However, a greater audience can be reached through paid adverts shown on these platforms, and how much you're willing to spend on these is up to you. For example:

Instagram ads (promoting posts)
  • Choose a post to promote 
  • Can select a goal: more profile visits, more website visits or more messages 
  • Can ‘create an audience’- select locations, interests, age range and gender 
  • Pricing depends on your budget and how long you want the ad to run for 
  • Budget: £1 (min) - £1,000 (max) 
  • Days: 1 (min) - 30 (max) 
  • Estimated reach: 150-400 (min- £1 and 1 day) to 4,600,000-12,000,000 (max- £1,000 and 30 days) 
So if I wanted to achieve my objective of gaining 1k followers on social media, I could spend enough money to reach over 1k people. This would increase the number of people noticing the company and thus increase the number of followers it has. If I spent £2 a day for a month on Instagram advertising, I would spend £60 and whatever post I promoted would reach between 8,700 and 23,000 people. At the minimum, I would only need 11.5% of people (if it reached 8,700) to follow Beehive's profile to achieve the goal.

Normal Instagram ads (CPC) 
  • $0.50 - $0.95 cost per click (if they have a destination URL) (includes link clicks, likes, comments and shares) 
  • $0.725 = £0.59 
  • 150 x £0.59 = £88.50 
Pinterest ads 
  • $2 - $5 per thousand impressions ($3.50 = £2.85) 
  • Budget: £15 
  • 15 ÷ 2.85 = 5.26 
  • 5,260 impressions 
YouTube ads 
  • $0.10 - $0.30 per view/action ($0.20 = £0.16) 
  • Budget: £90 
  • 90 ÷ 0.16 = 562.5 
  • 563 views 
Attending and performing at creative events is a good opportunity to achieve my objective of increasing the local community's engagement with Beehive Theatre's work. It would give me a chance to showcase what the company is capable of and spark interest in the musicals, whilst also allowing me to talk to people about Beehive and gain in-person feedback from the public. There are many local events that would be perfect to perhaps showcase a section of the musical, such as the 'Gorleston Clifftops Festival' or the 'Out There Festival' in Great Yarmouth. I could also give out information in the form of flyers or programmes, providing links to Beehive's website and social media accounts. Those who attend the event would then hopefully share this information with people they know and word will spread, increasing the community's interest in my company.

Flyers:

£24.70 + £6.17 (to decorate the back) + £3.59 (economy delivery) = £34.46 

Posters:

£26.09 (50 posters) + £4.99 (delivery) = £31.08 




Marketing plan

Vision and mission statement Vision statement:  To transform theatre into a welcoming and inclusive industry for all. Mission statement:  To...